Workshop « The Causes of Conflict in Ancient History and Politics » – Edinburgh, 25-27 May 2017


Institute of Advanced Studies in the Humanities




Workshop Causes IASH

Thursday 25th May

  • 5.10-6.40pm: Keynote Lecture
    Sarah Brown Ferrario (Catholic University of America) : Historical agency and the ‘great man’
  • 6.40-7.30pm: Drink reception
    7.30pm: Dinner at a local restaurant

Friday 26th May

  • 10-10.30am: Registration

Chair: Carlo Natali (Venezia)

  • 10.30-11.30am: Cristina Viano (CNRS, Paris) and Catherine Darbo-Peschanski (CNRS, Paris):  Eris: une passion politique? / Eris: a political emotion?
  • 11.30-12am: Coffee break
  • 12am-1pm: Mirko Canevaro (Edinburgh), Aristotle, stasis and institutional change in Athenian democracy
  • 1-2pm: Lunch

Chair: Douglas Cairns (Edinburgh)

  • 2-3pm: Andrew Erskine (Edinburgh): Changes of Fortune: Polybius and theTransformation of Greece
  • 3-3.30pm: Coffee break
  • 3.30-4.30pm: Benjamin Gray (Edinburgh), Changing approaches to conflict and reconciliation in later Hellenistic cities
  • 4.30-5.30pm: Nicolas Wiater (St Andrews), Debating causes through history: the controversy about the causes of the Second Punic War from Fabius Pictor to Appian
  • 7.30pm: Dinner at a local restaurant

Saturday 27th May

Chair: Jean-Louis Labarrière (CNRS, Paris)

  • 10-11am: Marco Enrico (Genova) :Theou paragontos: responsabilité humaine et action divine dans les Guerres civiles d’Appien
  • 11-11.30am: Coffee break
  • 11.30-12.30am:Francesca Gazzano (Genova) : May flattery be a cause of war? The people and the commander in Plutarch’s Greek Lives
  • 12.30am-1pm: Final discussion
  • 1pm: Lunch

Organisers : GDRI Aitia / Aitiai - le lien causal dans la pensée antique, Le Centre Léon Robin et The University of Edinburgh, School of History, Classics and Archaeology

Télécharger le programme :


Search this site  


In the news  

Copyright © 2023 Léon Robin Centre for the Study of Ancient Thought. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.

We have 389 guests and no members online